Things Concealed

You think you know but you don’t see
Hidden inside this hollow heart
My deepest fears and darkest dreams
Things fall apart before they start

Take me and use me
Always confuse me
A moth to the flame
One touch leaves a burn
Master of the game
Go ahead take your aim
I never learn

Bright eyes hide the darkness inside
Tortured by feelings that never subside
Tearing down these bulletproof walls
Picking me up just to watch me fall

Take me and use me
Always confuse me
A moth to the flame
One touch leaves a burn
Master of the game
Go ahead take your aim
I never learn

You think you have my heart
Under lock and key
But baby
That’s not the way it’s gonna be

Not this time…

So take me and use me
Try to confuse me
A moth to the flame
One touch leaves a burn
But now it’s my turn
I’ve mastered the game
And finally learned

Unpublished ©2015 Jennifer Seifert

Leave a Reply

