Fool Me Once

With the voice of an angel
You drag me to hell
String me along
Make me think I belong
I’m under your spell

Saw it coming from a mile away
Always knew you wouldn’t stay
Try to bury you deep
In the back of my mind
But I can’t leave it behind

But just pretend for a night
Everything’s alright
Then I won’t have to see
How you’re ruining me
Sugar-coated words
Leave my vision blurred
Blind to the signs
No one can save me this time

Rose petals on a bed of nails
Lay me down
Tip the scales
With your deceptive fairy tales

Make me see
What will never be
Paint me a picture
Of an impossible fantasy

But just pretend for a night
Everything’s alright
Then I won’t have to see
How you’re ruining me
Sugar-coated words
Leave my vision blurred
Blind to the signs
No one can save me this time

Poison my mind
With your beautiful lies
Make me believe
That you’re good for me
Break the heart
I wear on my sleeve

You’ll never see
How you damage me
It’s the same everytime
A continuous climb
Pull back your hand
I’m falling again

But just pretend for a night
Everything’s alright
Then I won’t have to see
How you’re ruining me
Sugar-coated words
Leave my vision blurred
Blind to the signs
No one can save me this time

Unpublished ©2015 Jennifer Seifert

Leave a Reply

